Chai Shai Chaishai with me

2023 NHL Awards Recap

While the Winnipeg Jets didn’t take home any of the hardware after Monday’s NHL Awards ceremony in Nashville, it’s always interesting to see how the votes finished up.

Here is a full rundown of the winners (with trophies in alphabetical order), and where different Jets players ended up in the final vote tally.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy – Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins

Calder Memorial Trophy – Matty Beniers, Seattle Kraken

This was the first award that saw a member of the Jets near the top of the final voting. Cole Perfetti, who was near the top of the rookie standings in assists early in the season, ultimately saw his season come to an end due to injury after 51 games. At the time, he had eight goals and his 30 points were the third most among rookies.

Overall, Perfetti received three votes (a fourth-place vote and two fifths) to finish 11th in the final tally.

E.J. McGuire Award of Excellence – Connor Bedard, Regina Pats (WHL)

Frank J. Selke Trophy – Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

There were a number of players to receive votes for this award from the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA), given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspect of the game.

Jets forward Adam Lowry, who the Jets routinely give some of the toughest match-ups to, received a fourth place vote.

Hart Memorial Trophy – Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

While the Hart Memorial Trophy ended up in Connor McDavid’s hands for the third time in his career, Jets goaltender Connor Hellebuyck received a total of 10 votes from the PHWA. Two of those were as high as third place, another two came in fourth place, and the final six were fifth-place votes.

Jack Adams Award – Jim Montgomery, Boston Bruins

After a record setting regular season, it was no surprise that Montgomery took home the award, voted on by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association.

Jets head coach Rick Bowness also received some kudos for his first season in Winnipeg. He received a second place vote and finished in a tie for 11th in voting along with Sheldon Keefe of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Paul Maurice of the Florida Panthers.

James Norris Memorial Trophy – Erik Karlsson, San Jose Sharks

It was going to be tough for any defenceman to beat Karlsson’s offensive production this season, as he became the first blue-liner since Brian Leetch in 1992-93 to record 100 points in a season.

Josh Morrissey was right there with Karlsson for most of the season, as the Jets defenceman shattered his career-highs in goals (16), assists (60), and points (76) to put himself in the middle of the Norris Trophy conversation all season long.

His 76 points put him second on the Jets in points, and tied him for second in the entire league in that category amongst defencemen.

Still, the 28-year-old came up just short of being a finalist, finishing fifth overall in voting. Three members of the PHWA gave Morrissey first-place votes (which count for 10 points when the votes are tallied), while another 16 put Morrissey’s name in the second slot. Add in another 23 third-place votes, 21 more for fourth place, and 17 fifth-place votes, and Morrissey finished with 337 points – which was just 116 points short of being named a finalist for the first time in his career.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy – Mikael Backlund, Calgary Flames

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy – Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings 

After Jets forward Kyle Connor won the award last season, he finished down in 28th in voting in 2022-23. Connor still had a great season offensively, leading Winnipeg with 80 points after his 93-point effort last season.

Just ahead of Connor was teammate Nate Schmidt, who picked up two third-place votes for the award.

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award – Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning 

Ted Lindsay Award – Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers 

Vezina Trophy – Linus Ullmark, Boston Bruins

For the third time in his career, Jets goaltender Connor Hellebuyck was in the running to be named the winner of the Vezina Trophy. 

In 2022-23, no goaltender started more games than Hellebuyck’s 64, and his four shutouts were tied for the fifth most in the NHL. On top of that, his 37 wins were tied for the third most in the league with last season’s winner, Igor Shesterkin of the New York Rangers, and Jake Oettinger of the Dallas Stars.

When the votes from the NHL’s general managers were tallied, Hellebuyck finished third with two first-place votes, five second-place votes, and seven third-place votes.

Hellebuyck’s resume now includes a Vezina Trophy win in 2020, and two finalist selections from 2018 and 2023.

Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award (U.S.) – Jason McCrimmon, Detroit Ice Dreams Youth Hockey Association

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button